skip navigation

Lakeville North's Nick Juaire is Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year

By Ron Haggstrom, Star Tribune, 06/16/18, 4:15PM CDT


The Panthers senior catcher boasts a team-first attitude, and he combined a solid defensive prowess with an improved run-producing swing to capture this season's honor.

Lakeville North senior catcher Nick Juaire's mental toughness helped him improve this season into a .500-hitter with six home runs and 28 RBI, compared to 17 a year ago. "Nick is a tremendous competitor who is able to keep his emotions in check and move on to the next opportunity or task at hand,” Lakeville North coach Tony Market said. “He is not intimidated by situations.” Photo by Renee Jones Schneider, Star Tribune • renee.jones@startribune.com

Lakeville North senior Nick Juaire is like a lot of baseball players in that he brings plenty of natural talent to the diamond on a daily basis. It’s Juaire’s mental approach to the game that makes him elite.

“The physical development will always be there with athletes that put in the kind of time that Nick does,” Lakeville North coach Tony Market said. “What has impressed me most is how he has been able to keep himself humble and gracious for his talents while at the same time never being satisfied and working tirelessly toward his own personal goals.”

The Panthers catcher has combined superb defensive skills to an ever-improving and more potent offensive attack to become the 2018 Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. The four-year starter is a Texas Christian recruit.

Past Star Tribune Metro Players of the Year

2017: Sam Carlson, P, Burnsville
2016: Nick Hanson, P, Prior Lake
2015: Eddie Estrada, SS, Litchfield
2014: Sam Hentges, P, Mounds View
2013: Logan Shore, P, Coon Rapids
           Max Knutson, P, Mounds View
2012: Logan Shore, P, Coon Rapids
2011: Ryan Busch, P, Roseville
2010: Tom Windle, P, Osseo
2009: Ryan Abrahamson, SS, Tartan
2008: Brad Hand, P, Chaska
2007: Danny Miller, P, Eden Prairie
2006: Jed Hanson, P, Forest Lake
2005: Dan Leslie, P, Henry Sibley
2004: Tim Radmacher, P, Rosemount
2003: Aaron Jenkins, P, Champlin Park
2002: Marcus McKenzie, P, Minnetonka
2001: Joe Mauer, C, Cretin-Derham Hall
2000: T.J. Prunty, P, St. Paul Academy
1999: Luke Appert, SS, Park of Cottage Grove
1998: Ryan Klocksein, P, Minnetonka
1997: Mark Pedersen, P, Mounds View
1996: Ben Birk, OF, Cretin-Derham Hall
1995: Justin Dudinsky, P, Brooklyn Center
1994: Jake Schaffer, SS, Holy Angels
1993: Chris Schwab, OF, Cretin-Derham Hall
1992: Dave Lance, P, Irondale
1991: Ryan Kjos, P, Hopkins
1990: Tom Nevers, SS, Edina
1989: Nevers, SS

Baseball Hub Headlines