skip navigation

Mississippi 8 All Conference Awards

By Mississippi 8 Press Release, 06/06/13, 2:15PM CDT


Congratulations to Big Lake High School, and their head coach Mike Morehead and coaching staff as they are the Mississippi 8 baseball champions for 2013! Coach Morehead is the Mississippi 8 baseball coach of the year- congratulations Mike!

Congratulations to Big Lake High School, and their head coach Mike Morehead and his coaching staff, as they are the Mississippi 8 Baseball Academic Champions with a cumulative class rank of 64.43 %.

Mississippi 8 Conference Baseball Standings for 2013
Big Lake, 7 wins- 3 losses
Monticello, 6 wins- 4 losses
St. Michael-Albertville, 5 wins- 4 losses- 1 tie
Rogers- 5 wins- 5 losses
Buffalo- 5 wins- 5 losses
Cambridge-Isanti 1 win- 8 losses- 1 tie

Baseball Coach of the Year goes to the conference champion- Mike Morehead, Big Lake

Mississippi 8 Honors as voted by the baseball coaches:
Tri -Most Valuable Pitchers- Nathan Soltau, senior, from Big Lake, Kyle Ellis, junior from Rogers, and Jacob Dzubay, senior, from St. Michael-Albertville
- also nominated - Andrew Manning, junior from Monticello

Co- Most Valuable Offense- Hayden Laimer, senior shortstop from Monticello and Ryan Gelle, senior first base from Rogers
- also nominated- Jared Wycoff, senior shortstop from Buffalo
- also nominated - Brandon Holthaus, senior first base from Big Lake

Most Valuable Defense- Jared Wycoff, senior shortstop from Buffalo
- also nominated- Ryan Gelle, senior first base from Rogers

2013 Mississippi 8 All Conference Baseball Team

Big Lake High School
Tony Rathmanner, senior shortstop, third base, pitcher
Brandon Holthaus, senior first base
Ethan Hunt- senior outfield and pitcher
Connor Dostal- senior catcher
Nathan Soltau- senior pitcher
Sam Dokkebakken, junior shortstop, pitcher
Hayden Laimer, senior shortstop
Michael Fisette, senior outfield
Jakob Kounkel, senior first base and pitcher
Andrew Manning, junior pitcher
Tanner Eckhart- jumior pitcher and first base
St. Michael-Albertville
Jacob Dzubay, senior pitcher and first base
Tyler Dallum, senior first base, pitcher
Jeff Hackenmueller, senior catcher
Tyler Berg, sophomore pitcher, outfield
Jared Wycoff, senior shortstop
Brennan Gilyard, senior third base
Jason Senger, senior pitcher, outfield
Adam Nauth- junior pitcher
Ryan Gelle- senior first base
Kyle Elllis- junior pitcher, shortstop
Kyle Gageby, senior third base
Jake Johnson, junior pitcher

Thank you!

Mark Solberg, Activities Director, Mississippi 8 Baseball Coordinator
Cambridge-Isanti Public Schools

Related Stories

  • Schedules posted for 2020 season

  • By Paul Patane, SportsEngine 03/20/2020, 3:00pm CDT
  • A bevy of talent concentrated in the east and west metro suburbs of the Twin Cities makes league games from two conferences in particular must-watch baseball this season.
  • Read More