skip navigation

Veglahn tosses epic inning

By Eric Ebert, MN Baseball Hub, 05/17/12, 1:50PM CDT


La Crescent's ace Eric Veglahn sets state record for strikeouts in an inning

Leading Hayfield 4-1 on April 14, La Crescent ace Eric Veglahn headed to the mound in the bottom of the seventh searching for his first complete game win of the season.
He left the field having accomplished something no major league player has done and affirmed his place in state baseball lore by striking out the side. 
All five batters.
After fanning eight through six innings, Veglahn continued his dominance in the seventh. He struck out the first two batters looking.
The third batter went down swinging, but the catcher couldn't field the breaking pitch, allowing the runner to reach first.
"That should have been the third out," La Crescent coach Rick Boyer said. "Then the next one got away and I thought, 'Oh my goodness.' "
Veglahn struck out the fourth batter, but another passed ball allowed him to reach base. With runners at first and second, the tying run came to the plate.
Veglahn struck him out, too.
"I have never seen five strikeouts in an inning at any level, anywhere," Boyer said.
The five strikeouts set a new state record for an inning. Only 11 others have recorded four in one inning, according to the Minnesota State High School Baseball Coaches Association's records.
Veglahn, a senior, is undecided on his college choice, but plans to play baseball at the next level, Boyer said. The lefty has quietly piled up 101 strikeouts this season to lead all pitchers in the state.
With the regular season wrapping up, Boyer hopes to capitalize on Veglahn's dominance.
"Been to state the last three years, and we definitely want to go again," Boyer said.
La Crescent finished runner-up last year, losing 6-1 to St. Cloud Cathedral in the Class 2A championship.


Inning: Strikeouts

Strikeouts Name School Opponent Year
5 Eric Veglahn LaCrescent Hayfield 2012
4 John Kaminski Waseca Austin 2002
4 Matt Tradewell Win-E-Mac Baudette 2001
4 Justin Frank Wabasso Sleepy Eye 2003
4 Ryan Gilgenbach Byron Winona Cotter 1992
4 Aaron Jenkins Champlin Park Blaine 2003
4 Nick Hagen Albert Lea Winona 2005
4 Mark Halstensgard St. Anthony Village Como Park 2006
4 Steve Maher Holy Angels Northfield 2008
4 Brad Cherveny Blaine Centennial 2008
4 Austin Pinke St. James Waseca 2009
4 Justin Anderson West Lutheran Randolph 2011
4 Mitch Brown Rochester Century Rochester Mayo 2012
4 Mitch Brown Rochester Century Rochester John Marshall 2012
4 Erik Thorvilson Rochester Century Winona 2014
4 Greg Toivonen Starbuck Long Prairie 1980
4 Rick Andersn Starbuck Elbow Lake 1965
4 Ben Walston Rochester Lourdes 2015

Related Stories

  • Schedules posted for 2020 season

  • By Paul Patane, SportsEngine 03/20/2020, 3:00pm CDT
  • A bevy of talent concentrated in the east and west metro suburbs of the Twin Cities makes league games from two conferences in particular must-watch baseball this season.
  • Read More